Skip to content

Devils Old Boys reminisce 1980 underdog Premiership

The Devils hosted our annual Old Boys reunion on Sunday, with the event leading into our match against the Capras that saw us secure the 2021 Minor Premiership.

After being unable to hold the event in 2020 due to COVID lockdowns, the Devils Old Boys were excited to come together and celebrate the anniversaries of the 1940, 1960, 1961, and 1980 premierships.

Many of the 1980 Premiership winning side joined us for the day, including Brian Bird, Mark Murray, Greg Conescu, Greg ‘Zulu’ Dews, Gary Walker, Mark Graham, trainer Hilary Pocock, and Nanda sponsor Victor De Pasquale.

Mark Graham, Mark Murray, and Campbell Dews.

Sir Graham Lowe also sent a video message from Auckland, reminding the attendees of what a great win it was, with the Devils having been all but counted out by the media.

There were a number of Old Boys, friends, supporters, and family from different eras at the club, some joining the current playing squad at the famous Bishop Park can bar to sing the team song after their win against the Capras.

Also revealed on the day was the past players honour board on the outside of the Norths Devils football office which lists the amazing number of great players who have come through the club – Clive Churchill, John Sattler, Fonda Metassa, Cameron Smith, Cooper Cronk, Billy Slater, and Greg Inglis to name a few.

Leave a Reply