Skip to content

Norths Devils 2018 Presentation Night Award Winners

Devils fullback Jack Ahearn, captain John Palavi and young gun Ethan Bullemor were among the major winners as Norths came together to celebrate their 2018 season last weekend.

The 2018 Presentation Night at Riverside Reception Centre at New Farm recognised standout players from the Intrust Super Cup, Hastings Deering Colts and Mal Meninga Cup under-18 teams.

Ahearn was named the ISC Player of the Year, polling consistently throughout the season to complete an excellent maiden year at Norths following his recruitment from Redcliffe at the end of 2017.

Ahearn, who also received the Old Boys’ ISC Best Back award, was one of only two Devils to play in each match in 2018. Jamayne Taunoa-Brown, the other Devil with a perfect record this season, was named the ISC Most Consistent Player.

Palavi, one of the few Devils who remained from the 2017 squad, was named ISC Players’ Player as well as the Old Boys ISC Player of the Year. The captain thanked his teammates and coaching staff for their contributions throughout the year.

Bullemor claimed three awards – the Bob Bax Award as the most promising club player, the Mal Meninga Cup Player of the Year and the Players’ Player. The Bob Bax Award was fitting recognition for the young prop’s achievement in playing across all four grades for the Devils – making an appearance in the Brisbane Rugby League before he rounded out the season with his debut at ISC and the Colts premiership.

The Bob Bax Award has been previously won by the likes of Cameron Smith and Cooper Cronk.

Fullback Gerome Burns was named the Colts Player of the Year with co-captain Kobe Hetherington the Players’ Player.

The Devils gave special recognition to ISC half Todd Murphy, who is leaving the Devils to play for his hometown Sunshine Coast Falcons in 2018.

The Devils awarded life membership to Col Smith and Brian Carmody for their outstanding service to the club.

Check out the photos below.

The award winners from the night:

ISC Award Winners

ISC Player of the Year – Jack Ahearn

ISC Players’ Player – John Palavi

ISC Most Consistent – Jamayne Taunoa-Brown

ISC Most Improved – Paul Ulberg

Old Boys – ISC Player of the Year – John Palavi

Old Boys – ISC Best Back – Jack Ahearn

Old Boys – ISC Best Forward – Oshae Tuiasau


Club Award Winners

Bob Bax Award / Most Promising Club Player – Ethan Bullemor

Outstanding Club Service – Todd Murphy


HDC u20s Award Winners

HDC Player of the Year – Gerome Burns

HDC Players Player – Kobe Hetherington

HDC Most Consistent –   Liam Horne

HDC Most Improved – Jake Strasser


MM U18’s Winners

MMC Player of the Year – Ethan Bullemor

MMC Players Player – Ethan Bullemor

MMC Best Forward – Nesta Watene

MMC Best Back – Jack Paterson


Leave a Reply