Skip to content
Round 1 Team List

Devils Name New-Look Team for Season Opener

The Devils’ off-season overhaul has been completed with a new-look team for the 2018 Intrust Super Cup opener against Tweed Heads Seagulls at Bishop Park.

The 17-man squad, guided by new coach Rohan Smith, includes 12 players who will play their first match for the Devils.

The team features:

  • An all-new forward pack and interchange bench is all new with the exception of lock John Palavi, who joined the Devils last season
  • Three Broncos players – half Todd Murphy, prop Sam Tagataese and new centre Gehamat Shibasaki
  • Devils regular Gary Riccardi at five-eighth, partnering Murphy in the halves
  • New face Jack Ahearn at fullback in a backline including winger Luke Pollock, who will play his 50th game for the Devils

“We’ve had an enjoyable off-season and the squad has come together well,” Smith said.

“We know there is a long way to go but we expect to be a strong team in 2018 and we’re looking forward to starting.”

The Devils’ spine is a mix of old and new for the club with Ahearn and Bishop joining established Devils Riccardi and Murphy.

But the Bishop family is no stranger to the Devils with Alex becoming the third generation of his family to represent Norths.

The Devils had a glimpse of Tweed Head’s capabilities two weeks ago when the clubs drew 12-all in a 40-minute trial on the Gold Coast.

The Seagulls team includes Gold Coast Titans players AJ Brimson and Moeaki Fotuaika, who have impressed during the pre-season and shape as significant challenges for the Devils on Sunday.

Five-eighth Brimson was named in the NRL’s Under 20 team of the year in 2017 and earned praise for his performance for the Titans in a trial against the Broncos last month.

Teenage prop Fotuaika recently signed a four-year deal with the Titans, with his on-field skills described as “amazing” by new Titans coach Garth Brennan.

Norths Devils v Tweed Heads Seagulls – 2:00pm, 11 March, Bishop Park


Full ISC Team List

1. J. Ahearn
2. P. Ulberg
3. G. Shibasaki
4. C. Ellis
5. L. Pollock
6. G. Riccardi
7. T. Murphy / H. Lipp
8. S. Tagataese
9. A. Bishop
10. J. Taunoa-Brown
11. M. Noovao-McGreal
12. M. Sio
13. J. Palavi

14. C. Gahan
15. O. Tuiasau
16. C. Doyle-Manga
17. G. Williams

HDC Team List

1.Herbie Farnworth
2.David Fauid
3.Elliot Vincent
4.Ethan Quai-Ward
5.Kegan Tuhega
6.Jerome Burns
7.Braydan Morton
8.Eddie Blacker
9.Lachlan Smith
10.Joe McGuire (c)
11.Jack Peoples
12.Jamie Tanuvasa
13.Matt Sila
14.Jake Chambers
15.Lionel Johnson
16.Jake Strasser
17.Zane Jones
18.Liam Horne

Mal Meninga Cup Team List

1. Daejarn Asi
2. Lachlan Tenison-Woods
3. Jack Paterson
4. Brock Diment
5. Fruean Easthope
6. Cory Paix (c)
7. Joshua James
8. Ethan Bullemor
9. Zak McGuire
10. Tristan Powell
11. Jordan Riki
12. Nesta Watene
13. Lachlan Lewis
14. Ethan LeBlanc
15. Tevita Ofahengaue
16. Sosefo Filipine
17. Zach Brooks

Leave a Reply